Personality Traits of Each Rashi Name in English

Written by: Kaushik Jethva

Last Updated: May 25, 2023

rashi names in english
Rashi Names in English

In India, Vedic astrology has long been an essential part of people’s lives, helping them make crucial decisions and understand their personality traits. Zodiac signs, also known as Rashi names in Hindi, play a vital role in Vedic astrology, with each sign corresponding to a specific period of the year. This comprehensive guide will discuss Rashi name in English and Hindi (राशियों के नाम), their symbols, and the constellations associated with them.

1Understanding Zodiac Signs (Rashi Names)

Zodiac signs or Rashi names are based on the 12 constellations that the Sun, Moon, and planets move through in their journey across the sky. The Zodiac is an imaginary circle around the Earth, and these 12 zodiac signs (राशियों के) divide the circle into 12 equal parts, each lasting approximately 30 days.

2The 12 Zodiac Signs and Their Rashi Names in Hindi and English

Aries (Mesh)


Date: March 21 – April 19

Symbol: The Ram Rashi

Name in Hindi: मेष (Mesh)

Aries, the first zodiac sign, is ruled by the planet Mars. Aries individuals are known for their courage, leadership skills, and enthusiasm. They are natural-born leaders who are always eager to take on new challenges.

Taurus (Vrishabha)


Date: April 20 – May 20

Symbol: The Bull Rashi

Name in Hindi: वृषभ (Vrishabha)

Taurus, ruled by Venus, is known for its stability, sensuality, and love for beauty. Taureans are reliable and practical, often succeeding in their endeavours due to their determination and perseverance.

Gemini (Mithun)


Date: May 21 – June 20

Symbol: The Twins

Rashi Name in Hindi: मिथुन (Mithun)

Gemini is ruled by Mercury, the planet of communication. Geminis are known for their intellectual abilities, adaptability, and curiosity. They can easily grasp new ideas and possess excellent communication skills.

Cancer (Karka)


Date: June 21 – July 22

Symbol: The Crab

Rashi Name in Hindi: कर्क (Karka)

Cancer is ruled by the Moon and is associated with emotions, intuition, and nurturing. Cancerians are sensitive, empathetic, and compassionate individuals who prioritize their family and loved ones.

Leo (Sinh)


Date: July 23 – August 22

Symbol: The Lion

Rashi Name in Hindi: सिंह (Sinh)

Leo is ruled by the Sun and is associated with power, authority, and creativity. Leos are natural leaders who exude confidence and are known for their charisma, generosity, and loyalty.

Virgo (Kanya)


Date: August 23 – September 22

Symbol: The Virgin

Rashi Name in Hindi: कन्या (Kanya)

Virgo is ruled by Mercury and is known for its analytical, organized, and practical nature. Virgos are perfectionists who pay close attention to detail and time, making them excellent problem solvers.

Libra (Tula)


Date: September 23 – October 22

Symbol: The Scales

Rashi Name in Hindi: तुला (Tula)

Libra, ruled by Venus, is associated with balance, harmony, and relationships. Librans are diplomatic, fair, and charming individuals who value aesthetics and personal connections.

Scorpio (Vrishchika)


Date: October 23 – November 21

Symbol: The Scorpion

Rashi Name in Hindi: वृश्चिक (Vrishchika)

Scorpio is ruled by Mars and Pluto and is known for its intensity, passion, and determination. Scorpios are resourceful, intuitive, and fiercely loyal, making them excellent friends and confidants.

Sagittarius (Dhanu)


Date: November 22 – December 21

Symbol: The Archer

Rashi Name in Hindi: धनु (Dhanu)

Sagittarius, ruled by Jupiter, is associated with adventure, optimism, and freedom. Sagittarians are philosophical, open-minded, and often have a great sense of humour, making them delightful company.

Capricorn (Makar)


Date: December 22 – January 19

Symbol: The Goat

Rashi Name in Hindi: मकर (Makar)

Capricorn is ruled by Saturn and is a sign known for its discipline, ambition, and practicality. Capricorns are hardworking, responsible individuals who strive for success and stability in their lives.

Aquarius (Kumbha)


Date: January 20 – February 18

Symbol: The Water Bearer

Rashi Name in Hindi: कुम्भ (Kumbha)

Aquarius is ruled by Saturn and Uranus and is associated with innovation, humanitarianism, and progress. Aquarians are independent, original thinkers who are drawn to new ideas and unconventional solutions.

Pisces (Meen)


Date: February 19 – March 20

Symbol: The Fish

Rashi Name in Hindi: मीन (Meen)

Pisces is ruled by Jupiter and Neptune, and it is associated with spirituality, compassion, and artistic expression. Pisceans are sensitive, intuitive, and empathetic, often possessing a deep understanding of others’ emotions.

3The Importance of Rashi Names in Vedic Astrology

In Vedic astrology, your Rashi name (राशि नाम) is determined by the position of the Moon at the time of your birth. This information is essential for accurate predictions and helps astrologers understand your personality, emotions, and life path. The Rashi name also influences the selection of a baby’s name, with specific letters and alphabets (अक्षर) considered auspicious for each zodiac sign.

4Wrapping Up

Zodiac signs or Rashi names are an integral part of Vedic astrology, providing valuable insights into an individual’s personality, strengths, and weaknesses. By understanding your zodiac sign (राशि) and its corresponding traits, you can gain a deeper understanding of yourself and those around you, helping you navigate life more effectively.

Feel free to explore our website for more information on astrology, zodiac signs, and Rashi names in both English and Hindi (Rashiyon ke naam). If you have any questions or would like to share your thoughts, please leave a comment below or send us an email. Don’t forget to save this post for future reference and share it with others interested in learning about zodiac signs and Vedic astrology.

Also, if you are interested, check our blog on mastering the art of reading the mounts on palm.

Community Q&A

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

About This Article

Kaushik Jethva
Written by: Kaushik Jethva author

This article has been viewed 405 times.

1 votes - 100.00%
Updated: May 25, 2023
Views: 405 views